sprouts!

I am trying to get back into the cooking routine (since I’ve eaten overtime meals for a VERY significant part of 2011).  I’ve found it hard to be creative with my meals and stick to my weekly meal plans when I am lured by friends to hit up a local restaurant (somehow your own cooking never sounds quite as good).  BUT I must return to my cooking ways.  I miss cooking supper as an amazing way to relax after a long day at work, or a way to bring a group of friends together at a table for good conversation.  TJ has done most of the cooking in our recent relationship, so I’m also feeling a little inadequate about my domestic skills.  These are all pretty good reasons to put my apron back on and grab a frying pan!

Within the last year I tried my first brussel sprout . . . and now I am in love with them.  A friend directed me to a great food blog, Poor Girl Eats Well, where I found an amazing recipe using my new-found love.  I’ve used this recipe a few times, and it never fails!  Eat up!

 

 

Warm Brussels Sprouts Salad with Honey Dijon Vinaigrette

 (makes 3 side servings; total cost per serving: about $3)

  • 1-2 lbs Brussels sprouts (about 30 sprouts or so)
  • ½ c dried cranberries
  • 1/3 c chopped almonds
  • 1 T olive oil
  • 1-2 cloves finely minced garlic
  • Salt & pepper to taste
  • 1-2 oz. crumbled goat cheese (optional – I use blue cheese)

Honey Dijon Vinaigrette:

  • 2 T light olive oil
  • 1 ½ T white wine vinegar
  • 1 T honey
  • 1 T Dijon mustard
  • ¼ t granulated garlic
  • Pinch of salt
  • Dash of black pepper

Prepare the dressing by combining all dressing ingredients in a bowl and whisking together vigorously until completely combined. Set aside. Rinse the Brussels sprouts, trim off the ends and remove any soiled or wilted leaves, then cut each sprout into quarters (if they’re really small, halves will also be okay). Heat the olive oil in a medium skillet and add the minced garlic, cooking until just slightly fragrant. Add the Brussels sprouts and stir fry over medium high heat for about 4-5 minutes or until slightly tender, seasoning with salt & pepper about halfway through. Remove from heat.

In a large bowl, assemble the salad by tossing together the sprouts, cranberries, chopped almonds and the dressing. Let the salad sit for a few minutes before serving. Garnish with extra chopped almonds and plenty of freshly ground pepper, and enjoy!

Here is a picture of my finished product!  YUM!

Delicious and healthy!

P.S.  The honey mustard vinaigrette is a divine recipe all alone.  I would highly recommend it as an alternative to your typical store-bought variety.

Leave a Reply

