a very sinful brownie.

In preparation for the upcoming wedding, I have tried to be a bit more diligent about my food consumption.  Let’s be clear though, this is not a wedding diet.  I am not setting any unrealistic expectations for weight loss, rather I am trying to be more cognizant of what and how much I am eating.  To assist in this, I have become addicted to the My Fitness Pal app for iPhone.  The app gives you a calorie goal for the day and you track what you eat by scanning bar codes and entering foods.  You also get negative calories for exercising.

It has been an eye opener for sure . . . but it doesn’t stop me from enjoying all kinds of foods . . . rather it helps me better identify when I need to compensate in another area (i.e. increased exercise or a decrease in another meal).

One delightful treat I have been fond of making for myself and others in recent months was a Pinterest find that I simply call “The Very Sinful Brownie.”  It’s painful to enter into the calorie counter, but easy, delicious, and a crowd pleaser!

The Very Sinful Brownie

  • 1 package of pre-made cookie dough
  • 1 bag of Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups
  • 1 box of fudge brownie mix (prepared per package directions

First, preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Next, grease a muffin pan generously.  Place the cookie dough in the muffin pan and pat the dough so it covers the bottom.  Then put a Reese’s peanut butter cup on the cookie dough.  Finally, cover the peanut butter cup with brownie mix.  Make sure you leave some room for the concoction to expand.  I would say 3/4 full or a little more is appropriate.  Pop the treats in the oven and bake 18-20 minutes, or until the brownies are done on top.

Image

Brownies in process!

The real challenge in these brownies, is getting them out of the pan in one piece.  It can be messy, and they don’t always look the prettiest, but everyone forgets about it when they have a taste.  My suggestion its to let them cool a bit and then work them out with a knife around the edges and then a fork to pry them out.  However, as you can see below, I have yet to perfect this myself.

Image

The end product . . . not pretty . . . but delicious.

So while these are wonderful. . . not sure how many of them will be on the menu between now and November.  My Fitness Pal gives me the following stats:

  • Calories per Serving (one individual brownie): 473
  • Carbs per Serving: 63
  • Fat per Serving: 24 grams
  • Protein per Serving: 5 grams
  • Sodium per Serving: 279 grams
  • Sugar per Serving: 44 grams

Bottom line . . . if I do  have one . . . I best go on a nice long walk that day too.  Do enjoy though.  Don’t deprive yourselves!

Leave a Reply

