a commuter’s life.

Each weekday *, I make the hour-long drive from my rural home to the city . . . and back . . . 92 miles round trip.  There aren’t many jobs here in my area for highly trained and competent auditors.  I am over qualified to be a bookkeeper and lack proper tax preparation knowledge to be a local CPA.  This situation leads me to live a double life . . . one where I am still city girl, moonlighting as a resident of rural America on nights and weekends.

I would be lying if I said this commuting thing is fun, but I try not to complain too much.  Those who have to commute long distances or short distances that feel long due to traffic likely understand.

This commuter’s life goes a little like this . . .

  • 5:20 AM – Alarm goes off.  Snooze.
  • 5:29 AM – Alarm goes off again.  Snooze.
  • 5:38 AM – Wake up . . . maybe.
  • 6:15 AM – Leave the house if all goes well.  Don’t forget everything you need for the day . . . there is no turning back.  Check for laptop, lunch, badge, purse, work shoes (of course different from my driving shoes) and COFFEE.
  • 6:20 AM – Listen to NPR Morning Edition.
  • 6:50 AM – Listen to the Marketplace Morning Report on NPR.
  • 7:00 AM – Hit traffic in the city . . . beware of texting drivers.
  • 7:15 AM – At work.
  • 7:20 AM – Eat breakfast at work and drink MORE COFFEE.

Pause . . . to work at least an 8 hour day.

  • 5:00 PM – Pack up the desk.  Make sure I return to my home with everything I brought . . . check for laptop, lunch, badge, purse, work shoes, and coffee mug so I can have COFFEE tomorrow.
  • 5:05 PM – Maybe leave work?
  • 5:10 PM – Call J.  Tell him I am on my way.  The list of errands and stops along the way are vetted between us (luxuries such as Target and Hy-Vee).
  • 5:15 PM – Listen to All Things Considered on NPR.
  • 5:30 PM – Continue to listen to NPR.
  • 5:45 PM – Continue to listen to NPR.
  • 6:00 PM – Hopefully home . . . barring traumatic traffic issues.

The cost benefit analysis of commuting says it’s worth it now.  Even with the price of gas.  Of course . . .  this clip told me differently.

The excellent news about commuting, is that you become worldly from all the NPR, you become a seasoned defensive driver, there is ample time to catch up with friends on those days you’re not too tired to talk, and you get to appreciate the beauty of the sun rise.  Plus, I get to spend lots of quality time with my trusty Honda CR-V (love this car . . . big fan of Asian made autos).  There really is a silver lining to every cloud.

Happy hump day to all!

* As of this month, my commute is officially just 4 days a week!  My awesome employer is letting me work from the farm on Wednesdays.  Alleluia!

6 thoughts on “a commuter’s life.

  1. Pingback: farm fridays – selective outrage. | A Whole New World.

  2. Pingback: farm friday – this is life. | A Whole New World.

  3. Pingback: on our table this week. | A Whole New World.

  4. Pingback: farm friday – the unexpected challenges. | A Whole New World.

  5. Pingback: farm friday – spreading the word. | A Whole New World.

  6. Pingback: farm friday – 5 thoughts for iowa’s newest farm fiancé. | A Whole New World.

Leave a Reply

