farm fridays – spring sprouts.

For the past few years, Farmer J and I have had a garden in the backyard.   I will freely admit that J is really the driving force behind the garden plans and executing the planting in the spring.  The garden is a product his hard work and vision.  I do not have a green thumb and usually lack the passion and desire to start the planting (I would be a horrible professional farmer . . . that’s why I let him do it).  I do try to make-up for my spring laziness in summer, when J gets tired of weeding and collecting veggies I tend to pick up the slack.

This year we converted our garden plot to a raised bed and brought in some fresh soil from a nearby field.  It looks very pretty, and I hope it’s just as productive as our previous patch.  We planted lettuce, spinach, tomatoes, cabbage, peas, beans, brussel sprouts (our favorite crop), various herbs, potatoes, onions, and cucumbers (hopefully enough for 52 quarts of pickles to be canned . . . J’s idea).  The seeds are starting to sprout and the progress is beautiful!

I am definitely looking forward to enjoying our produce in the coming months.  It is amazingly satisfying to eat something that you have nurtured from seed to plate . . . and in my opinion you just cannot beat anything fresh from the garden (especially tomatoes).

Do you have a garden sprouting this spring?  What are you planting and what is your favorite produce you plan to grow?

Happy gardening (or as I call it, mini-farming)!

P.S. Corn planting is done at this farm for the year!  Soon we will see those lovely plants starting to grow too!

 

One thought on “farm fridays – spring sprouts.

Leave a Reply

