consciously not doing it all.

This weekend I had high hopes to tackle my to-do list and get my affairs in order before a series of business trips that will leave the house chores at the mercy of my ridiculously busy husband. Saturday started with good intent to do the dishes, make the grocery list, and clean the counters. I got side-tracked by the snuggles and purring of my cute kitty which kept me in bed until 9:00. My to do list was further procrastinated by the new episode of “Grey’s Anatomy” and a slow bowl of cereal. By the time my responsible brain kicked in it was after 11:00. Only minutes later, I got a surprise message from a friend asking if I would like to have a ladies rendezvous at a winery about 90 minutes away. Every cell in my brain initially thought “There is no way I can do this given my to-do list.” However, I fought back and decided consciously not to do it all and to make the trip. I am not going to be the best house keeper, the best cook, or the best bookkeeper this weekend, but I did decide I would be a good friend.

The joy of not doing it all.  Had I cleaned, I would have missed this beautiful day.

The joy of not doing it all. Had I cleaned, I would have missed this beautiful day with beautiful friends!

Trying to do it all is not a new phenomenon, especially for women. I am completely guilty of it. I apologize to guests if I haven’t dusted, I apologize to my husband for coming home late because I went to yoga class, and I apologize to myself for not making it through the books on my nightstand. Anyone else have similar thoughts?

Although this isn’t a new problem, I am going to say that I think social media takes these pressures to a whole new level. We are all putting our best foot forward and generally showing you our new clean kitchen instead of the half-completed remodel of our guest room that is also doubling as a storage unit (GUILTY!) We’re also trying to actually execute those complicated Pinterest recipes and crafts we accumulated over hours of browsing (and once we’ve perfected that recipe or craft, we’re trying to take the perfect photo of it . . . GUILTY AGAIN!)

Let’s be real with ourselves and decide when it’s best just to decide not to do it all. It’s okay to cancel your yoga class, make boxed macaroni and cheese, snuggle a bit more with your pet, and to leave that dust one more day . . . or week. In fact, you should celebrate when you make those decisions for your personal sanity. Share those decisions with your friends and tell them it’s okay not to do everything too. Try your best not to feel guilty about it either . . . I know it’s hard . . . I promise I will try too.

Also what consciously not doing it all looks like.  Although, I do need to pack that suitcase.

Also what consciously not doing it all looks like. Although, I do need to pack that suitcase.

 

3 thoughts on “consciously not doing it all.

  1. Pingback: delayed farm friday – nearing the finish. | A Whole New World.

  2. Pingback: the run down. | A Whole New World.

  3. Pingback: happy (anxiety filled) holidays. | A Whole New World.

Leave a Reply

