happy (anxiety filled) holidays.

I am back, and I have a message . . . the holiday season gives me anxiety.

There are many wonderful things about the holidays, so I don’t want to give the impression that I am a total scrooge.  However, my personality type does not lend itself well to the mad rush of the season.  To make matters worse, I am in a profession that places high importance on year-end deadlines.  It’s a perfect disaster or personal and professional chaos.

There are the personal (self-imposed) pressures to have a beautiful Christmas tree, bake dozens of cookies, and find the perfect gifts for loved ones.  There are the professional pressures to finish audits before the mass PTO exodus begins, wrap-up projects long procrastinated, and complete your year-end evaluation to show everyone how great you were the last 365 days.  Add in a few holiday parties, church activities, trips to the mall, and a last minute work trip and you have a recipe for stress.

It’s just a lot for me.

So if I don’t call, blog less, and my Christmas card arrives at your door on January 3rd (or later), please forgive me.  It’s not you, it’s me.  Know that I have tried hard, but I’ve just had to let some things go for my sanity.  If I am to enjoy any part of this wonderful time of year, I just have to accept that I can’t do it all well (a constant reminder for me).

I hope you all can find some way to stop and enjoy this time.  It really is wonderful, so step back and make sure you are present.  Maybe you have to give up your blog, your lunch break, or a clean bathroom (or all of the above in my case). . . but it will be worth the smiles and laughs when you are with your friends and family.

Happy holidays all!  Peace and joy for a happy new year!

Our Christmas oasis.  There is some peace and joy here.

Our Christmas oasis. There is some peace and joy here.

3 thoughts on “happy (anxiety filled) holidays.

  1. Pingback: 2014 in Review. | A Whole New World.

  2. Look at this. Already commenting again.
    But how could I not comment on a Christmas post?? shame on me.

    If it makes you feel any better, my Christmas cards are still in a pile on my desk. Not completed. However, my cd’s are done. boom.

    If I wrote a blog, I would have a post in January about how sad I get when Christmas is over. PCSS (Post-Christmas Sadness Syndrome?)
    XOXO

Leave a Reply

